Personal Story and a Champion’s Tribute: Western Visayas Regional Meet 2012


Opening Ceremonies for the Western Visayas Regional Meet at Panaad Stadium

Two days ago, I received a Facebook message informing me that my cousin Jason Adrian Mayo-Mirabueno won in the swimming competition over at the Western Visayas Regional Meet. Deep inside, I was elated and happy that he is finally achieving his dream. Friends back home in Bacolod City have shared some photos with me of the opening at Panaad Park and Stadium and I was about to blog about it like an Ernie Baron in the web. However, I found a really personal side to the story which I wanted to share somehow, so forgive me if I will border on something deeply personal.

Photo-ops before the competition proper

My eyes were witnesses to how this dearest cousin honed his swimming talent as a child when he first became curious of the learn to swim lessons for the Panaad Swim Team. He grew from being a curious child to a bemedalled athelete that he is now. His swim lessons are of curious interest to me whose passion I saw in his eyes while he follows his older brother James went first with the training. His victories over at amateur competitions and interprovincial meets proved that potential.

My cousin Jason waiting for his turn with competing Western Visayas athletes

My vision for this young cousin of mine seeing the national competitions grew stronger when I was still with my ex-girlfriend who happened to be an all-time champion in this very same Regional Meet and Palarong Pambansa a few years ago. I envisioned my cousin to draw the same swimming champion path as my ex-girlfriend and I even planned for a meet-up between the two achiever swimmers. Eventually, things did not happen as I planned it when my relationship with this ex-girlfriend ended bitterly and in a sour note over something slightly related to swimming and some other reason as well.

Western Visayas swimmers preparing for a relay competition

Though I love my cousin so much, that sour experience almost killed my interest with swimming. A part of me would be happy if my cousin won but another side of me did not want to hear anything about swimming again. This was my hindrance with celebrating my cousins victories through the times but his rise to swimming stardom was simply unstoppable. Somehow, blood is thicker than the waters of past experiences and swimming has found another meaning and redemption in the persona of my cousin Jason. After all, he is my cousin, right? A really talented cousin for that matter. He deserves all the accolades and honors for his years of continuous training and hard good work.

Receiving the gold medal for Negros

Events competitions continues today at Panaad Park and Stadium where Western Visayas Provinces continue to showcase athletic talent. If you are a kasimanwa and in Bacolod City, please take time to watch the games and support Team Negros athletes especially my cousin Jason. As of the latest medal tally, Negros is leading in the gold medal count. The Negros Occidental Swim Team contributed twenty-two gold medals more to the medal tally count. Athletes like my cousin Jason need all our prayers and support for a landslide win for our Negros.

The champ posing with his gold and silver medals

My personal prayer for my cousin is that he will continue down the champion’s path not only carrying the province’s banner but the country’s as well in the future. I would wish to see his talent honed in the top notch universities here in Manila when the time comes for him to enter university studies. This blogger-cousin would always be proud of you and will always be here to support you hundred percent! His four golds and three silvers qualifies him for competing in the Palarong Pambansa this May 6-12, 2012 at Dagupan City, PangasinanKudos Jason for your victories and to God be all the glory!

About Mark Mayo - Magallanes

MARK MAYO - MAGALLANES – blogger by passion, cook by hobby, student by life, theater actor by fate, writer by work, and Christian by grace. Part Filipino, Chinese and Spanish by blood, he is proudly 100% Negrénse. His love for his home Island of Negros, heritage and lifestyle has led him to write much about it and full-time, all-time. View all posts by Mark Mayo - Magallanes

2 responses to “Personal Story and a Champion’s Tribute: Western Visayas Regional Meet 2012

  • Liza Mayo

    Good job! Appreciate this write-up, Mark and thanking God for overcoming a little trauma you’ve had in the past just to be able to showcase your cousin’s achievements in swimming in the recent WVRAA Meet. He finally bagged 4 Golds and 3 Silvers en route to Palarong Pambansa in Dagupan, Pangasinan on May 6-12, 2012. Keep writing for God’s glory, Mark!

Leave a Reply

