¡Feliz Primero Cumpleaños República Negrénse!


Aimlessly looking out in the internet to divert his attention to the problems that crushes his heart, he searched for random things just to soothe his broken heart. That was the night of January 20, 2011, the day after a bitter break up from someone he once has his whole attention day to night and very much heartbroken. He found WordPress.com and thought suddenly to open an account just to serve as his emotional diversion. He did not think of anything fancy, just a place online to pour his heart out. After a few clicks and types, he launched his blog with the title The Midway Journal as he was in the middle of a lifechanging situation. Little did he know that his little “emotional diversion” would someday help travelers, tourists and foodies to discover his beloved homeland, Negros Island and his beloved hometown, Bacólod City.

Mark Will Magallanes, diary entry for January 10, 2012

The story of República Negrénse is a very personal story mine, borne out of a simple prayer that the pain caused by a bitter break-up would have meaning in my life. Exactly one year later, I have seen it bear fruit with readers from several countries worldwide, five plane tickets to or from my hometown, unbelievable amounts of food tasted, countless of friends made, a domain, thousands of fun miles walked and enjoyed. The very heartache that spurned me to blog is now already gone but here I am still, blogging. It was an answer from the Lord I did not realize until I looked back at how many breakthroughs I had with my life because of this blog, a blessing in disguise. Thousands of words and 160 posts later, I am now celebrating this blog’s first anniversary.

As I am writing this, I keep on finding right words to use but joy has overwhelmed me much. I thank my family for being my most rabid fans and has been helping me in many aspects of blogging. Mom, Dad, my younger brother John and even my older sister Chrysee, I give my biggest thanks, my warm hugs and appreciation. My dearest friends, nongs and nangs from Negros Bloggers, blogging friends in Manila like Jillian Bantang and Berniemack Arellano, even to the very supportive SSC Bacólod barkada, I give my biggest thanks. My loyal readers and all my blog sponsors, I thank all of you for reading my blog and believing in República Negrénse. My wish is that I can offer more exciting blogs to help you in your travel, heritage and food fancies.

Highest of all, I thank the Lord for making all these possible! You never left my side when all the zephyr of problems kept on knocking me down. You deserve all my praise and offering, to you I dedicate this year, this blog all the way. GOD BLESS…

and TO GOD ALONE BE THE GLORY!

About Mark Mayo - Magallanes

MARK MAYO - MAGALLANES – blogger by passion, cook by hobby, student by life, theater actor by fate, writer by work, and Christian by grace. Part Filipino, Chinese and Spanish by blood, he is proudly 100% Negrénse. His love for his home Island of Negros, heritage and lifestyle has led him to write much about it and full-time, all-time. View all posts by Mark Mayo - Magallanes

2 responses to “¡Feliz Primero Cumpleaños República Negrénse!

Leave a Reply

