Pascua sa Bacólod: Museum Café


Christmas is always best spent at home and that’s what I exactly did last Christmas. In the city that boasts an unaccounted number of fine restaurants, the City of Smiles indeed is a culinary destination in Western Visayas and I can even claim the whole Visayas. As a Negrénse who loves good food and coffee, I know of a café that has become my personal favorite. Museum Café has somehow become my place for a culinary pilgrimage ever since I set foot on it half a year ago. Set out in the Phinma Hall of Negros Museum, the Museum Café boasts of having the best organic gourmet sandwich in town as I have blogged before. For me to enjoy my afternoon coffee and snack, I invited my friend and fellow blogger Ej Bioneda.

More than good food, what I love about the Museum Café is the ambience. Tucked away from the busy streets of Bacólod, this Café has a relaxing ambience, surrounded by tall trees and full of artworks. It even has an age-old log on the pavement that recreates a forest-like atmosphere. Though there is no airconditioning in this café, I enjoy the free flow of fresh going through the windows. This time though, I chose to sit outside to have a close commune with nature. Nature lovers and environmentalist would surely love the setting of the Museum Café, not to mention the helpful smiles of the waiters. How I wish though that they had a free wi-fi service for me to work on my articles in peace but I guess the lack of it makes one appreciate the setting.

While I was waiting, the staff was kind enough to talk to me and ask me occasionally how I was. A big smile flashed on my face when I told them it was my third time to be in the Museum Café and I have been recommending it to my friends. No wonder why the famous tour guide Carlos Celdran liked his experience here. They gave me lemon water to quench my thirst as I was waiting for my order. First to arrive was my cup of Batangas coffee complete with sugar selections: white, brown and muscovado. Muscovado is always my choice. Fresh milk from La Granja was also there but I was surprised at their latest addition, a complimentary pastry which is perfect with coffee. I always love putting La Granja milk on my coffee because of it’s smooth full cream.

Shortly after my first sip of coffee, my order of smoked bacon on corn bread sandwich arrived. For those who have read my previous blog, you have the choice of french baguette, grey sesame bread, whole wheat bread and corn bread for your sandwich. My choice of corn bread was good since the sweetness of corn tamed the saltiness of bacon. Being mahogany smoked, the bacon had a taste and even aroma from the wood. What I though was a piece of pork fat in my sandwich is pickled radish that taste similar but more pleasant than radish kimchi. The vegetables in the sandwich like parsley, lettuce and tomatoes are all fresh and organic. While I was enjoying my sandwich, my friend arrived and got her order from the café too.

While I was talking to my friend about the latest in blogging, I was surprised when the waiter approached our table and handed us our plates of paté de champagne. It was their complimentary dish of they week that they prepared for foodies and regular customers. The paté de champagne is made of organic probiotic pork meat and liver from Mon Peñalosa’s organic farm, cooked in garlic, rum, muscovado and rum, topped with caramelized garlic. The paté was splendid and was also perfect for my corn bread. Just as I was interested to buy this paté, the waiters told me that it would only be available for the day though may be available soon enough. The snack was filling enough that I did not even think of eating dinner afterwards.

As for that little pastry treat with my coffee, I saved it for dessert which my friend was pretty amused with the little thing. My friend here is pretty much a blogging baby but is willing to learn a lot from more senior bloggers. For a baby blogger though, she has achieved much with more 6,000 unique readerships and a number of interactions through blog comments. I initially tagged Ej as a fashion blogger but as post after post goes, it becomes clearer that she took the same blogging route as I did: lifestyle blogging. Hers is a more colorful world though with a boyfriend serving as a her immaculate inspiration and a fresher look at things. I see potential here but a potential that needs to be enhanced by which I hope Negros Bloggers can help.

Like an eager student to dynamic professor, she listened as I gave her tips in blogging and how that can fire up her future career further. With some personal matters and advices thrown in to the picture, I was just so happy for being a blessing. Not to mention, it was actually her first time to try out the Museum Café which she blogged about so happily. As time passed seven o’clock, she has to bade goodbye for now since her boyfriend’s waiting for her over at SM Bacólod. The day ended in a good note and a smile knowing that I have made a friend’s day. For meaningful conversations and just chill moments, I once more recommend the Museum Café. Open from 10am to 8pm, just drop by for a wonderful time with friends, family or someone special.

About Mark Mayo - Magallanes

MARK MAYO - MAGALLANES – blogger by passion, cook by hobby, student by life, theater actor by fate, writer by work, and Christian by grace. Part Filipino, Chinese and Spanish by blood, he is proudly 100% Negrénse. His love for his home Island of Negros, heritage and lifestyle has led him to write much about it and full-time, all-time. View all posts by Mark Mayo - Magallanes

2 responses to “Pascua sa Bacólod: Museum Café

Leave a Reply

