Peanut Butter and… Piaya?


Remember my entry on whole wheat piaya? Yes, I have been making a lot of those lately for birthdays and special people. Not a bit of worry for it will be available on the market real soon by late December 2011 ot early January 2012. After some setbacks encountered, it seems whole wheat piaya is going to be a hit in the market. Even if I will be rolling out a number soon, I still would like to keep the homemade and artisan feel to the product. My samples have seen satisfied tasters and improvements have been done at suggestion. Just as whole wheat piaya is already in itself, I am bringing to you even more innovations to this iconic heritage food of Bacólod City. While eating peanut butter with wheat bread, something rung a bell. While I like my wheat bread with native peanut butter, why not incorporate the two into a piaya?

Sounds like an imagination on the lose trying to incorporate crazy ideas on the selection but República Negrénse will never settle for something so ordinary. Your crunchy peanut butter is a no-no and way too expensive so I got the native peanut butter which is more fluid yet still slick. How did I get to put peanut butter inside my whole wheat piaya? That’s a secret but definitely, if its a challenging treat, it must be something good. After doing my usual magic with the whole wheat dough, I set out to fill in the peanut butter as I flattened the dough for the final touch. A few minutes after of waiting for the piaya to cook, I now have my product.

As the kitchen was filled with the aroma of peanuts, I knew my product is already cooked. Excited to know if my innovation was successful or not, I took a bite. It was a bit hot but the steam coming from the filling filled my nostrils. With the same gusto as Archimedes plus my clothes still on of course, I had a Eureka moment. The peanut butter piaya is a success and will be included in my selection of piayas to be sold soon here at the online shop of RepúblicaNegrénse.com. You could’ve figured out that this will not be the end, don’t you? This time, it will not just be piaya but many more of your favorite Negrénse treats. That is what Negrénse cuisine is all about, innovative and never boring. If you are a Negrénse, very much passionate for our province and our food, you can partner with me. You may send inquiries at administrator@republicanegrense.com.

About Mark Mayo - Magallanes

MARK MAYO - MAGALLANES – blogger by passion, cook by hobby, student by life, theater actor by fate, writer by work, and Christian by grace. Part Filipino, Chinese and Spanish by blood, he is proudly 100% Negrénse. His love for his home Island of Negros, heritage and lifestyle has led him to write much about it and full-time, all-time. View all posts by Mark Mayo - Magallanes

Leave a Reply

