Craving for Kopi Tiam’s Chami


My blog post just a few minutes ago reminded me of my Tumblr post about the Seafood Chami of Kopi Tiam. Ersao’s Chami and Kopi Tiam’s Chami are two different species altogether since Kopi Tiam’s has more tasty sauce with a lot of sahog while Ersao’s is more on flavorful pack in the noodles. Strangely, we were only six people in Refuge Growth Group earlier and we decided to go home instead. I was planning to order this but anyway, there is always time for everything, even for Kopi Tiam’s tasty food or a simple order of Storm.

My growth group, Refuge, always has a single dilemma every we finish Bible study: Where will we eat? There would only be two obvious choices for us, ArmyNavy or Kopi Tiam. Last night, Kopi Tiam again prevailed. Kopi Tiam is a subsidiary restaurant of North Park with branches at Valley Golf and this one we always go to, C. Benitez St. (Horseshoe, Cubao). It is an Asian Fusion-type of restaurant that offers in its menu food selection from across varying kinds of Asian Cuisine.

Arriving in Kopi Tiam at that day, we were surprised that there were no other cars parked by the bays so we got the place by ourselves. Eating only a little for breakfast and lunch, I wanted to order something more than what my usual Binondo Mami offers. I first thought of ordering Boneless Chicken Curry Noodle but the waiter told me it was not available. Looking further in the menu, I asked him what “Kopi Tiam Chami” is. He explained to me that its basically a version of Bam-i with seafood and mushrooms while warning me its for two-three people. Just what I exactly need!

My order arrived in a big plate with a big serving fork to the amazement of my friends. Anyone who went there that ordered a Kopi Tiam Chami would usually eat a third of it and take home the rest. I would understand since it is a loadful of carbohydrates but I am not someone to be deterred. I did notice that it had too much of dried mushrooms but the rest is great. The mix of fishball, shrimp, cabbages and carrots are substantial with the noodles definitely not sticky. Eating by single plate servings, I was able to munch down to the last morsel. I knew quite well that its my money’s worth.

Other menu items like Binondo Mami, that Boneless Chicken Curry and of course, their Kopi Tiam House Blend Kopi with their homemade cream. Definitely, Kopi Tiam is worth re-blogging again with their wide selection of food. Once again last week, I was able to finish a whole 2-3 serving seafood fried rice without viand whatsoever. This is just a proof that Kopi Tiam’s food selection is very much tasty. Too bad they don’t deliver to my place though but do try eating at Kopi Tiam if you’re in the Greenhills area.

About Mark Mayo - Magallanes

MARK MAYO - MAGALLANES – blogger by passion, cook by hobby, student by life, theater actor by fate, writer by work, and Christian by grace. Part Filipino, Chinese and Spanish by blood, he is proudly 100% Negrénse. His love for his home Island of Negros, heritage and lifestyle has led him to write much about it and full-time, all-time. View all posts by Mark Mayo - Magallanes

Leave a Reply

