Celebrating Thankfulness with Selah


Friday evening, I received a text message from GCF Staff that I am invited to join the Fellowship Lunch for Purpose and Passion Volunteers. It is my second year of volunteering for Purpose and Passion but this is the first time I attended the Fellowship Lunch. Since I left my house a quarter before twelve, I decided to catch a ride in the MRT to make it to GCF before the scheduled lunch. I arrived in the GCF’s New Fellowship Hall and cued along with fellow volunteers who somehow I had become friends with in the duration of the event. After a few courtesies and greetings, I was able to get my plate and waited for moments a bit. When I got to the catering table, I discovered that the caterer for the event is Selah, a restaurant owned by a fellow GCFer. I’ve passed by Selah once but didn’t have time to stop by and eat. Selah is a note commonly seen in the Psalms and is translated as rest. This is one restaurant that I always wanted to eat in and this lunch was an opportunity to have a sneak peak on what Selah may offer on my planned visit.

I was shy a little bit to take some pictures so I only took two. As I was talking to my fellow volunteers, I told them that a blogger is always keen on writing about something that made sense and this was one of them. I took my food of choice with rice sprinkled with cilantro, garlic fish, sautéed vegetables, chicken teriyaki and buko salad. The usual catering food, eh? But everyone knows that we should not judge a book by its cover, even so with food. I took my drinks, sat down on a table with fellow “all-around” volunteers in Purpose and Passion. Instinctively, I took my camera and took a snap on what I would feast one. I was very hungry so I couldn’t wait longer for just a few more snapshots.

We may be eating what is usually generically served in catering services, I do laud Selah’s for an extra touch of care in how food was cooked. The fish for example was not too soft that it would disintegrate at slightest touch of spoon but just okay to give me a bit of a chew, something I’d like my fish to be. I like the cilantro bits on my rice for they add an extra kick to what can be plain white rice. Sautéed vegetables was just right, not too salty but not too sweet, goes well with my chicken teriyaki. Sadly, I was not able to take a picture of the buko salad but I do like the effect of having shaved coconut flesh. It gives a bit of crunchiness that makes the ordinary salad extra-special. All in all, food was great. If their catering service would do well, I’m sure the restaurant itself would appeal to my palate. Did I mention that Selah is also a coffee shop? Reminds me of Café Uma, my favorite coffee shop in my hometown Bacolód City that serves one of the city’s best Italian foods while relishing my giant cup of cappuccino.  I hope I’d be able to convince my growth group to eat in Selah this Wednesday. Until then, Selah will be in my list of urgent to-try restaurant.

About Mark Mayo - Magallanes

MARK MAYO - MAGALLANES – blogger by passion, cook by hobby, student by life, theater actor by fate, writer by work, and Christian by grace. Part Filipino, Chinese and Spanish by blood, he is proudly 100% Negrénse. His love for his home Island of Negros, heritage and lifestyle has led him to write much about it and full-time, all-time. View all posts by Mark Mayo - Magallanes

Leave a Reply

