Remembering “My” Statesman


Every person has encountered millions of people in his lifetime. Often they are strangers, a number are acquaintances, a few are friends but only a handful are people who make an impact in one’s life. These people may be close friends, family or role models that are well-off in life or academics yet set their feet on solid ground. As I reflect on this, I remember a great statesman who made an impact in my life the past year, former DND Secretary Gilbert “G1BO” Teodoro. I have seen him several times but nothing beats this experience with him in his office in Camp Aguinaldo. This picture is one of the few I have as a memorabilia with him…

Gibo is a no-nonsense professional who strives to work his best in the field. He came to the helm of DND when the AFP was swamped with controversies. It was sad that he only got to serve for a short span of time. We hoped for a better president and we saw it in Gibo Teodoro. The years 2009 and 2010 saw the best times of my life when I served him in my function in his campaign as his Regional Director in Western Visayas. I remember him listening intently very much when young people voice out their idea and sentiment. No wonder he got the hearts of the youth. His sense of authority yet humbling words saw crowds in every university presidential debate he goes in. Gibo never forgets to express his thankfulness to his volunteers when chance arise. I miss working with him and how he would encourage me in my careers randomly. I would never forget a person like Gibo Teodoro who has proven himself to be a statesman. He may have lost the Presidential Election but winning the Palace does not make one a statesman.

Today is his Forty-seventh birthday. He is still young indeed though now out of the political scene, hopefully for now. A true father he is to his only son and I would remember how recounts cooking for his family or buying vegetables in Market – Market when he is not busy. I wonder if I’ll ever see him again but I hope I would soon. Rumors have been going around that he might run for Senator but that remains a rumor still. Even now, I am still ready to be of service to him when he rekindles his passion for the people by running for any office. I say, this man deserves as second chance for the Palace. We need a man like him to run our country that is beleaguered with many turmoils and troubles in and outside our borders. It is my prayer that he will live this another year of his life well and thankfully. Sulong Gibo!

About Mark Mayo - Magallanes

MARK MAYO - MAGALLANES – blogger by passion, cook by hobby, student by life, theater actor by fate, writer by work, and Christian by grace. Part Filipino, Chinese and Spanish by blood, he is proudly 100% Negrénse. His love for his home Island of Negros, heritage and lifestyle has led him to write much about it and full-time, all-time. View all posts by Mark Mayo - Magallanes

Leave a Reply

