“Turn your eyes…”


Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace.

After all the Holy Week happiness and enjoyment, it seems that Monday has zapped the energies out of me. It seems that this all too happy guy in the week before it just sank low at the moment of the day. I was asking myself: “What do I need to do and where do I turn to? I need some perking up.” As I was trying to steer my own ship, I slowed even further hitting the sandbars which has put a grind in all my efforts. Steering bound to search for love, joy and peace all by myself was not working but out of nowhere as I was thinking of anything else, the hymn “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus” hummed in my mind.

I read the Bible 365 readings for today from 2 Chronicles 17: 36; 20:35, NIV 1984 which talked about Jehoshaphat, King of Judah who in every ways sought to glorify God by breaking Israel’s own bondage to pagan idols. He was a good king but he failed on some aspects like seeking the alliance of Ahab, King of Israel with whom the Lord  has condemned for his sins. As I was reading on his life, I cannot help but identify my heart with him, seeking every measure to glorify God but I slip to a hard fall. As I was reading further, God gave him another break at defeat of Moab and Ammon. From here I get a timeless memorial from God…

Do not be afraid or discouraged… For the battle is not yours, but God’s. (2 Chron. 20:15, NIV 1984)

As I am struggling to pull myself and further pull up resources I need for the trips I am going to, I got so weary and tired, almost at the brink of giving up but I just have to remember that all this is not on me but on God. The battle for all these is His and not mine. My faith is not solely on my hands but on the hands of Whom who gave it to me. My prayer is this…

…that God may use my life for His greater glory…

…that my life will be an instrument of blessing…

…and that he may enlarge my territory for me to reach distant lands for His glory and grace.

______________________________________________________

Just a random thought but I just have to say this… You find love when you least expected it and in the time you least sought of it.

About Mark Mayo - Magallanes

MARK MAYO - MAGALLANES – blogger by passion, cook by hobby, student by life, theater actor by fate, writer by work, and Christian by grace. Part Filipino, Chinese and Spanish by blood, he is proudly 100% Negrénse. His love for his home Island of Negros, heritage and lifestyle has led him to write much about it and full-time, all-time. View all posts by Mark Mayo - Magallanes

Leave a Reply

