God’s Hand of Grace on My Macbook


I used my Macbook terribly the whole day today and it accompanied me to every task I was doing including typing my test paper for my student in Basic Mandarin, Facebook and Photobooth vanity. When I got home last night, I opened it once again and encountered this flashing on my screen…

I panicked for I know that could mean trouble and so I tried in vain to restart it and reinstall the Mac OS X Snow Leopard into the laptop to no avail. It just was not working and so could mean problems. Just shrugging it all, I used my Mom’s computer and Dad’s (the one I am using for this blog) before going to sleep. Sleepless as I am, suddenly an idea to reopen my Macbook came to mind and I jumped into action. Trying everything I have done earlier, I failed but except for one thing… I noticed the “Erase” option in the Disk Utility. I tried erasing some info’s off my hard drive and it worked only that instead of only “some” info’s, I ended up erasing all of it. Guess what? That’s the only time the “Repair Hard Drive” worked. At first, I lamented for the fact that I lost half a year’s worth of files there including my well kept photo journal of me and my ex-girlfriend but one’s thing’s for sure, this is really God’s hand. For me to move on into my life, I will not only erase the bad memories but also the “good” memories of my past.

This reminds me of a timeless promise of God through Apostle Paul…

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

(2 Corinthians 5:17, NIV 1984)

True enough, we always try to forget the traumatic memories of sins which so affected our lives and maybe even to the point of being driven into the road of salvation which we now enjoy but, true enough as well, our past sins have also given us “happy” memories of which we ourselves have enjoyed in its worldly pleasures. Just as we want these “happy” memories to remain, they too must go for in truth, they too caused our misery as well. The so-called “happiness” without Christ is merely an illusion which tricks the person to death, eternal death, just us a mirage tricks a lost thirsty desert traveler into an illusion of relief. Exact to the promise of Christ, “the old has gone”, not just SOME of the old but ALL of the old, sad or “happy”. God’s promise of newness assures us of His wonderful plans for us ahead.

God truly works in mysterious ways even in the intervention to an electronic gadget to teach us a lesson. This is the evidence that God indeed is abounding in love and rich in grace to sustain us always, now and for the rest of our life.

About Mark Mayo - Magallanes

MARK MAYO - MAGALLANES – blogger by passion, cook by hobby, student by life, theater actor by fate, writer by work, and Christian by grace. Part Filipino, Chinese and Spanish by blood, he is proudly 100% Negrénse. His love for his home Island of Negros, heritage and lifestyle has led him to write much about it and full-time, all-time. View all posts by Mark Mayo - Magallanes

Leave a Reply

