Once Again, Single and Proud of It!


Finally, after months of grief and plain denial, the truth has been acknowledged and accepted. What seems to be a simple act is rather a milestone in my quest to recover from a recent heartache. Things are not what they seemed to be or used to be but the most important thing is that being “forced” into singlehood again is not a curse but rather a “forced” blessing on me. I may still have to work in forgiving those who have offended me and honestly, I have not come to terms yet in forgiving them but rather this is a first step to reconciling at least with myself.

Onward I follow to mend the broken pieces of my heart and move on to another great possibility. An acquaintance of mine puts it: “Single? In a relationship? Rather, God is writing the best love story of my life.” Every unfortunate incident is but a love letter from God which says: “My son, you have come too far away from my love. I shall grab you from danger and nestle you on the solid rock.” Indeed, a new perspective on what happened and what will happen has somehow changed at this time. My God made that break-up possible not because He just wants to randomly peck upon my life but rather he save me from a relationship that is pulling me farther from His love and glory. There are still lots of things I should mend and fix but what makes me happy is the fact that He never fails to show me His love in many various ways possible.

I may have sinned and grieved Him in that recent past but one thing’s for sure, His grace is enough to forgive the sins of my past and is planning my way ahead. I am not yet sure of the other places that I am going but knowing that His plans are great, I would not bow a head to worry about it all. In our weakest of being, He shows His full and all sufficient grace. Its summer and there are lots of things to do in order for me to be productive not only for my personal benefit but for God’s kingdom.

I have read in my Worker’s Journey Guide about the very struggles of a prominent Christian field worker who struggled in his path of holiness. Obvious thing is that we can never achieve the “right path” without the leading of God through His Holy Spirit to assure us with His comfort. Reading Galatians 2:20, it reminds me of Christ being in me and the faith which He has implanted in my heart for me to life truly and fully. Despite all the challenges, He has been faithful and good. No matter how trivial it is for many people or no matter how ridiculous and stupendous it was, I know my God understands the dealings of my heart.

A timely reminder always resounds…

Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path. (Psalm 115:105, KJV)

We may lose our way but God’s word shall be our guide back to his path and His light shall cast our fears away. May His word enlighten me always as I continue to live my life and this time, fully for God’s glory!

About Mark Mayo - Magallanes

MARK MAYO - MAGALLANES – blogger by passion, cook by hobby, student by life, theater actor by fate, writer by work, and Christian by grace. Part Filipino, Chinese and Spanish by blood, he is proudly 100% Negrénse. His love for his home Island of Negros, heritage and lifestyle has led him to write much about it and full-time, all-time. View all posts by Mark Mayo - Magallanes

Leave a Reply

