The Big Man’s Word


The sleepless nights of mine remind me of two things… this has been going for almost two months now and that being sleepless works much like NZT except that NZT works like heavenly hell. I just could not forget “Limitless” which I watched a couple of days ago. This got me to think… do I need this fictional miracle drug to make an impact in the world? Certainly, this was of great help to Bradley Cooper’s character Eddie Morra but before he can achieve that almost invincible status, he faced tough and deadly obstacles along his way. Is this the price you have to pay to impact the world? Is it even the way to make an impact to the people around us? “How can I be of use and impact to the immediate society I live in?”, this has been the timeless question I have asked myself ever since. Rulers, leaders, dictators and many more notable people have come in great odds for their memory to be immortal but no one enjoyed their famous or infamous privilege beyond the grave.

I came to church yesterday afternoon with some thoughts in mind. Nothing seems to fall through the cracks with so many tasks to start by which I have no way of knowing where to draw the line. That Sunday seems to be quite a normal one with me seated by my family on the second row of the seats arranged nearest the pulpit. Quite restless, I just kept on excusing myself to walk around and just look at the view outside, thats if there is any view to look at all! Fixing myself one last time, I went back to my chair. At that time, my parents were discussing on who should be the next Senior Pastor of GCF when the “lolo-lolohan” of GCF came by our seat. It was not quite a surprise that Pastor David Yount came by our seat since my parents and I myself have been exchanging hellos and a few ideas with him. The only difference this time is that he spent more time knowing my family.

Since the time my family decided to make GCF our spiritual home, we are commonly seen around in many occasions. I, being the first family member to become a GCF member, is most commonly known to people. I first encountered Pastor Yount when I was heading up to the GCF Ministry Office after grabbing a humble Ministop Sundae Cone. Pastor Larry introduced me to him and these men of clerical stature were themselves on their way to enjoy this humble treat. This Sunday was different for apart from knowing my plans for seminary, he shared to me the revised edition of Campus Crusade’s 4SL now in the green color. (The previous one is color yellow) He was encouraging me in sharing the gospel, even willing to kill time by giving some tips if not for the fact that the service is about to start. From that short conversation, that got me thinking.

Matthew 5:18-19 gives us an unexpected new meaning on our concept of success. It says here…

18 For truly I tell you, until heaven and earth disappear, not the smallest letter, not the least stroke of a pen, will by any means disappear from the Law until everything is accomplished. 19 Therefore anyone who sets aside one of the least of these commands and teaches others accordingly will be called least in the kingdom of heaven, but whoever practices and teaches these commands will be called great in the kingdom of heaven.

This certainly is different from our preconception of success. For us, success is driven by power, money, beauty and competition but the Lord stipulates the opposite. He tells us that making impact is none of these but rather on following the word of God. Jesus says further that the key to greatness is reaching out to the least. I thought of that little tract and the four simple facts of the Gospel presented inside it. What is the ultimate way of making an impact in the society around me? Its by sharing the word of God! When many preoccupy themselves in their quest for something that is temporary, we are mandated by God to practice and teach His word. Human memories may fail and legacies fading to oblivion, the word of God stood the test of time and is still dynamic for “until heaven and earth disappear, not the smallest letter, not the least stroke of a pen, will by any means disappear from the Law until everything is accomplished.”

Unknowingly, Pastor Dave Yount had the most confluent impact for me that day. Of course! How can I just forget all along? Only God’s word can transform the lives of people. It is by the grace of God that lives are changed and have meaning. Without the grace and sovereignty of God, our endless search for meaning will come utterly useless. Billions wait around the world to find answers for the farthest questions man’s simple minds have ever reached. Alas! As man thinks he has found a way to answer all his questions, these answers are all empty and just lead to more endless questions that shall never give them peace.

As for my life, I strive to make God known in practice and in teaching. I do remember one time a would-be celebrity asked me: “How can I be forgiven when I keep on sinning against God, failing the struggle to keep myself up?” I answered him plain and simple: “Only by the grace of God can we depend on God’s salvation from our destructive passions.” Indeed, the gospel of grace and truth is foolishness to many but which can they only depend. Surprising as to see, many in our own circles have no idea of God’s own plan in their lives. We are not saved to warm the chairs or pews of the church, nor are we to just worship, pray and sing for if that is, there would be no need for us to stay longer in this world. We are saved by the grace of God to serve Him fully and made known to others this act of grace. Indeed, we should be the salt and light of the world from whom grace overflows to quench the thirst of the grace-needing world.

About Mark Mayo - Magallanes

MARK MAYO - MAGALLANES – blogger by passion, cook by hobby, student by life, theater actor by fate, writer by work, and Christian by grace. Part Filipino, Chinese and Spanish by blood, he is proudly 100% Negrénse. His love for his home Island of Negros, heritage and lifestyle has led him to write much about it and full-time, all-time. View all posts by Mark Mayo - Magallanes

Leave a Reply

