The Old Tamarind


Things have changed since I first found myself under the old tamarind tree. There is nothing much to the tree except the old barks peeling off the trunk and its countless fruits above the canopy revealing the age of the mighty that stood here. My days of yore reminded me of how much I love going up tamarind trees and savor its sour pods. Lonely standing in the heart of a Manila suburb, this tree has somehow provided me the secrecy of calling my special someone who is far away from me. In fact, I do go here just to call her whenever I just want to be alone talking to her. This same tree has been witness to the sweetness and sourness of a relationship, somehow reflecting the flavor of its own. I spend my days here laughing, reminiscing what have happened in the past and dreaming about the future. Dreams, illusions, actions and reality; these were the very fruits born out of my little time under the tamarind. On the very hollow of its trunks, I sit and let the dreamer dream. I sit and sit until the flood of thoughts escape my mind.

As days went by, I forgot about the tamarind tree. I spend more time somewhere, having fun or maybe arguing over something petty. My heart just grew cold and weary. The days of my youth are ebbing me by. Once the happy sample of youthful love now worn out by the stresses of the world. One by one, I made mistakes that has so revealed the road to destruction. So lost I have become and fallen I was from my source of peace. The memory under the old tamarind tree is fading and fading as the distant sun sets by. Mind, heart, soul and body has lost its vigor and enthusiasm. Love as it was became just a memory passing by, a nightmare ought to have been forgotten but haunts you in every dream.

Now a thirsty soul, I now go back to the old tamarind tree. The memories still fresh yet worn out dot every part of the mighty tree. I sat down by the very spot I once sat to dream. Yes, my throne of dreams still there, nothing but witness to every segment of living. So tired, I sat down like I used to. My eyes closed, I tried to rest and let my hands go where they will to be. As I sat there, I felt I was sitting on something that should not be there. I got up and searched for this oddity. There in the little crack a note is stuck. I got the little thing, opened it and started reading it. In in are my dreams, the testament of love I have so longed to happen. As I was reading it, I felt like being transported to the very day I wrote it. Ah! The days of my sweet youth. How I long to see again the days I see a smile on my face and my heart tugging inside of me. As I was thinking, I felt water drop onto my hand and on the note. I was in tears knowing somehow that those things I can never experience again.

How I long for a thoughtful hug and a gentle kiss. Will torment end in my steps? Suddenly, a ray of light passed through the leaves of the tamarind as if to herald a ray of hope. I got up and marvel at the little beam that changed my day. The message of heaven brings faith, hope and love. As I wrap my note and leave it from where I left it, I walked away knowing that I shall go back to that same tamarind tree fulfilling the very dreams it has kept. So long faithful tree, I shall see you again happy and no more tears.

About Mark Mayo - Magallanes

MARK MAYO - MAGALLANES – blogger by passion, cook by hobby, student by life, theater actor by fate, writer by work, and Christian by grace. Part Filipino, Chinese and Spanish by blood, he is proudly 100% Negrénse. His love for his home Island of Negros, heritage and lifestyle has led him to write much about it and full-time, all-time. View all posts by Mark Mayo - Magallanes

Leave a Reply

