An Open Door


Just a short thought, I have since learned today that when God tells you to let go of every comforts you have and have enjoyed for a long time, He prepares you for a greater mission in life. Life has been hard and miserable lately. God has ushered me to a point that I have to abandon everything to gain everything greater He has planned for me. My ministry have been my least of priorities since last year and this year He has brought heaven crushing over me to press out the unnecessities of life. Like a sponge once full of water, I am pressed out to nothing in order to absorb His plans fully for my life. I was on the verge of giving up, even to the point of being suicidal. As the dust from the whirlwind settles, everything is beginning to become crystal clear for me.

I have so longed to write my blogs again and I guess this is the very break I am waiting for. Becca Music, Inc. got me as an apprentice (in some sense a volunteer) writer for SAVED Magazine. I have never been so enthusiastic for ministry since problems first arrived in my doorstep. Hard may the problems be but I guess it has to be necessary in order to bring the best in me. Open door of opportunity (both in ministry and work) are beginning to open up. I pray that as God leads me to a new chapter of life, He will be steadfast in guiding me in all means to His path.

As I was reading up to the book “Living Faith” written by former US President Jimmy Carter, I cannot help but draw parallels to my own life and the very mission I am called in. The former president has been a faithful Christian servant since his early days even in his presidential service. Three things I have learned so far from his book: (1) Forgiveness is a big part of our relationship with God. The sacrifice on the cross enabled us to be forgiven and forgive others ourselves; (2) Christian witnessing is not merely a verbal display of the gospel but living it out, trying to alleviate the needs of others just as Christ tended the sick and healed the hearts of the outcast aside from preaching the way to the Father; and (3) Peace can never be achieved if we continue to shut ourselves in our very own understanding of the world and refuse to listen what others have to say. Christian life has never been easy. The best way to life is often the hardest route to take. I hope I can be enlightened further to the steps I am about to take. For now, I just have to wait for God’s signal for my life.

About Mark Mayo - Magallanes

MARK MAYO - MAGALLANES – blogger by passion, cook by hobby, student by life, theater actor by fate, writer by work, and Christian by grace. Part Filipino, Chinese and Spanish by blood, he is proudly 100% Negrénse. His love for his home Island of Negros, heritage and lifestyle has led him to write much about it and full-time, all-time. View all posts by Mark Mayo - Magallanes

Leave a Reply

